The Hafod Estate sits in 200 hectares of the Ystwyth valley and surrounding hills.
Hafod Uchtryd house and gardens were built to the “Picturesque principles” fashionable in the 18th century, with circuit walks allowing the visitor to enjoy a succession of views and experiences. Hafod became an essential destination for the early tourist in Wales. The house itself fell into a state of disrepair, was asset stripped in the 20th century, and was finally dynamited in 1958, but the rest of the estate still offers a wealth of walks.
The well marked walks take in the Ystwyth river gorge, various bridges, open parkland, a cascade of water through a cave, and the ruins of the mansion.
Getting there: Follow the A44 towards Aberystwyth, taking the turning to Devil’s Bridge. Cross the bridge and turn left next to the Hafod Hotel. Continue 3.5 miles on the B4574 towards Pontrhydygroes and the car park can be found next to Hafod church
Ordnance survey: SN 768736
Telephone: 01974 282568