Wye View is on the site of a 400 year old farm called Cilgwrgan Fach, the smaller of two farms on the 1,300ft high Foel Gurig hill. The word “Cilgwrgan” means Gwrgan’s retreat or rest.
Wye View cottages were converted in 1995 from an L-shaped stone and slate barn, which was built in 1847. The sympathetic conversion retaining the old oak beams of the original structure (and even an original ‘arrow slit’ window in Severn Cottage) and divided the building into three self-contained cottages. The cottages are named after our local rivers – Wye, Severn and Elan.
The cottages offer all the modern day amenities you could wish for whilst maintaining the charm of the past. All four cottages are carpeted upstairs with slate floors downstairs, have central heating, fully fitted kitchens with gas hob, electric fan oven, washing machine and fridge, a dining area and a lounge with HD satellite TV. Shower rooms have traditional suites, powerful showers, heated towel rails and extractor fans.
A stream flows through the 1.5 acre gardens, past the farmhouse to the river Wye in the valley below. There are many footpaths and trails to explore, beginning right from the cottage doorsteps and climbing up and over the surrounding hills in a series of superb and ever-changing views.
Read more about the places to visit around Wye View, places to eat & drink, and how to find us.