Our Airbnb Reviews

      Lovely location, superb standard of accommodation very thoughtfully maintained.

    thumb Victoria
    Thursday March 31st 2022

      We loved the cottage: from the comfy beds and furniture, to the super welcome - nice treats for us, and for our two dogs! The location was excellent, the kitchen was well-stocked with modern equipment and appliances, and we appreciated the strong wi-fi, good quality TV and (Hidden by Airbnb) Home mini (we've never used one before!) Grace and Adrian kept in touch, and Adrian was on-hand to offer advice for those new to the area. Can't recommend this location highly enough.

    thumb Duncan
    Sunday February 27th 2022

      Brilliant little place, spotlessly clean and with everything you need, including a beautiful view across the valley to the hills on the other side of the Wye, a really inspiring sight first thing in the morning! The cottage was cosy, warm and comfortable and very handy for where I was spending my day riding at Sweetlamb. Grace and Adrian were extremely helpful too. Highly recommended.

    thumb Paul
    Friday February 25th 2022

      Very comfortable, very clean and tastefully decorated cottage in a great location for walking, the Elan valley and Hafren forest. We had a lovely stay and will definitely stay again when in the area.
    We walked to the top of the hill behind the cottage at sunset, beautiful view over the River Wye and surrounding hills.

    thumb Nicky
    Wednesday February 23rd 2022

      This is my go-to place when in this part of Wales. Quiet and lovely

    thumb Charles
    Monday February 14th 2022

      It was our first time to stay in the cottage and to spend Christmas away and we really appreciate a nice welcome on our arrival, as Grace and Adrian were meeting us and when we entered our cottage, we had Christmas card and chocolates on the table, which was nice. On the whole we really enjoyed our stay, the cottage was clean, well equipped and we would like to stay there again.

    thumb Olga
    Tuesday December 28th 2021

      Perfect cottage for a couple and their dog

    thumb Charles
    Monday December 6th 2021

      Fantastic will stay again when working in the area

    thumb Ben
    Friday December 3rd 2021

      This was the perfect weekend getaway. The cottage was incredibly comfortable, cosy and clean and the surroundings were amazing. Grace and Adrian were such brilliant hosts. We were affected by Storm Arwen causing a regional power cut, but they were quick to supply us with lanterns, a stove top kettle and everything we needed to get by and it didn't affect our stay at all. We loved exploring the local area including Gilfach Nature Reserve, Bwlch Nant yr Arian and the Elan Valley. Would definitely recommend it!

    thumb Kate
    Sunday November 28th 2021

      We were in the area for work and stayed two nights at Hafren Cottage. It was lovely to have a little haven to relax in. The cottage is warm and cosy , extremely well kitted out and spotlessly clean. Grace and Adrian are lovely hosts and we highly recommend a stay with them.

    thumb Tanya
    Friday November 26th 2021

      Wonderful stay on all fronts, would thoroughly recommend!

    thumb Tom
    Sunday November 7th 2021

      Quiet & peaceful. The cottage is warm and welcoming and everything was super clean. A real home from home.

    thumb Melanie
    Sunday November 7th 2021

      Lovely cottage, warm and cosy in beautiful surroundings, hosts went above and beyond to make us feel welcome

    thumb Janis
    Monday November 1st 2021

      Grace & Adrian we’re great hosts. The cottage was absolutely wonderful and the cleanest place we have stayed in. Fresh eggs on arrival which was very kind. We had lovely days out, views are amazing and we would definitely return.

    thumb Wayne
    Sunday October 31st 2021

      Grace and Adrian were great hosts. Communication was great and the cottage had everything we needed for a great weekend with our dogs and young daughter. Would recommend to anybody wanting to explore Mid Wales.

    thumb Grace
    Tuesday October 26th 2021

      Lovely cottage in a lovely location. The cottage was perfectly clean and had everything that we needed for our stay. The hosts were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. Would defiantly recommend.

    thumb Alex
    Friday October 15th 2021

      A fantastic cottage, very clean and with all the amenities. Beautiful location in the Wye Valley.

    The hosts were very welcoming. We will be sure to stay again.

    thumb Christian
    Sunday October 10th 2021

      A spotlessly clean cottage, beautifully sited above the Wye Valley, well equipped and very comfortable and warm (significant for us since the weather broke as we arrived). Grace and Adrian were very welcoming and attentive hosts.
    The location is ideal for driving or cycling in all directions - Hafren Forest, Aberystwyth and the coast to the west, Rhayader and the Elan Valley (highly recommended) to the south, Newtown and Shropshire to the north east - Powis Castle is recommended. There are however limited options for walking in the immediate vicinity.
    Despite mixed weather we very much enjoyed our holiday at Wye View.

    thumb Stephen
    Sunday October 3rd 2021

      Very friendly hosts.Spotlessly clean.Very nice accommodation.Would highly recommended.

    thumb Carol
    Sunday September 26th 2021

      Absolutely fantastic. All our needs more than catered for & in my opinion, the location is stunning. Well located for Aberystwyth, Borth & the West coast beaches. We stayed to attend 'The Forest Experience' rally driving experience in Carno. Grace is an excellent host & the properties are beautifully presented. Thanks Grace - we'll be back !

    thumb Ian
    Sunday September 26th 2021

      We stayed in Hafren cottage at Wye View. Our hosts Grace and Adrian were lovely and the the cottage super clean with everything you could want for your stay.
    If you’re looking to explore this beautiful area then Wye view is highly recommended.

    thumb Andy
    Sunday September 12th 2021

      Beautiful setting, lovely hosts, spotlessly clean cottage with every comfort you’d need. Wye View is a gem in the heart of stunning mid Wales offering a fabulous base to explore the area. Will definitely be returning!

    thumb Clare
    Saturday September 4th 2021

      Lovely Cottage. We stayed as a family of 3 with a 16 month old.
    Grace answered all of our questions quickly. Put in a high chair and stair gate for us.

    We visited the Red Kite Feeding centre in Rhayader, which we'd recommend for an afternoon. And Hafren Forest for some lovely walks!

    Got some nice croissants in the local village shop too.

    Thanks for a lovely stay.

    thumb E
    Wednesday September 1st 2021

      Fantastic location for some amazing days out. The cottage was clean and well equipped. Grace was quick to respond and always very helpful. Had a great time.

    thumb Sam
    Friday August 27th 2021

      The cottage was in immaculate condition and finished to a high standard with all the utilities of home away from home. It’s central location makes it ideal to explore all that Wales has to offer. Take a short or long drive and you can see it all mountains, beaches, forests, lakes and plenty of wildlife. The hosts were friendly and helpful it was a perfect tonic after the last 18 months. Would love to visit again.

    thumb Peter
    Sunday August 22nd 2021

      Lovely cottage with everything you could want for a stay in mid- Wales. Clear check in instructions and the host had thought of all amenities. Recommend

    thumb Steven
    Friday August 6th 2021

      Thank you for a lovely stay. We stayed with our 5 and 2 year old and managed to see all the sights . The cottage was a clean, comfortable base for our holiday. Many thanks again.

    thumb Jen
    Friday August 6th 2021

      A lovely space in a lovely place; perfect if (like us) you are setting out to walk the Wye from source to sea.

    thumb John
    Thursday July 22nd 2021

      A wonderful short stay in a lovely, extremely clean cottage with gorgeous views of hills, sky and greenery. The place is well equipped and the beds really comfortable. There is a road down the slope and some road noise but little at night and the windows cut it right out. A small exchange for a lovely stay in a lovely haven with lots of fantastic walks and things today within striking distance. Grace and Adrian pay lots of attention to keeping the site well tended and beautiful and were a friendly, helpful and discreet presence on site. Very highly recommended.

    thumb Usha
    Sunday July 18th 2021

      Superbly equipped cottage and great location to explore mid Wales. It was a lovely cool retreat from the blazing sun and the days we spent running in the local hills. Would definitely recommend

    thumb Stuart
    Saturday July 17th 2021

      Beautiful location, excellent hosts. Cannot wait to return

    thumb Sophie
    Sunday July 4th 2021

      The accommodation was beautiful and very handy to the main attractions in the area. Very well maintained and spotlessly clean. We were made to feel very welcome by Grace and Adrian who were both very kind and helpful. We highly recommend this as a place to stay and one we would love to return to.

    thumb John
    Saturday June 19th 2021

      A lovely place to stay which was spotless! Great for exploring Mid Wales and the scenery is just lovely. We had a nice few days away and the fresh eggs on arrival made a delicious breakfast the next morning! Thanks again 😊

    thumb Sarah
    Saturday June 5th 2021

      Enjoyed a wonderful few days in this delightful accommodation. Everything you could wish for and very welcoming hosts

    thumb Suzanne
    Wednesday April 28th 2021

      A very nice little cottage and well situated for seeing the local area. Grace is a helpful host and we had a great time

    thumb Andrew
    Friday August 28th 2020

      Amazing cottage, beautifully arranged. We enjoyed watching the birds feeding in the garden and were lucky enough to spot a woodpecker. The surrounding area is absolutely majestic. Such a beautiful part of the world.

    thumb Ludo
    Friday August 14th 2020

      Fabulous place for a short break in Mid-Wales.

    thumb Charles
    Wednesday February 12th 2020

      Wye View is located in a gloriously beautiful, rural area of mid-Wales. There are rolling hills, green fields, drystone walls - all the stereotypically gorgeous images of Wales you can imagine.

    At Elan Cottage, you will have sheep gazing into your kitchen window from a field overlooking the property and plenty of small birds visiting the feeders. Plus, you will, not be able to miss the red kites flying above you.

    Grace and Adrian, the hosts, are friendly but not intrusive. The cottage is well designed, beautifully decorated and furnished, although some people might be surprised at the downstairs shower room/toilet. It didn't bother me at all.

    We were especially impressed with the two Chesterfield-style sofas. Every room was a good size and each area of the cottage was squeaky clean, with lovely views from every window.

    The welcome pack - tea, coffee, milk, sugar, biscuits, bara brith - were much appreciated and the kitchen was very well equipped.

    The files of information re local places to visit or things to do were extensive. A great deal of thought and work have obviously gone into making Elan Cottage (and, I would assume, the other cottages) a comfortable home from home. We will be back!

    thumb Christine
    Sunday February 2nd 2020

      Great accommodation, would highly recommend

    thumb GEV Wind Power
    Thursday November 14th 2019

      I stayed at Grace's cottage during the Wales Rally GB this weekend. Such a perfect little place and so homely. The cottage was spotlessly clean too, and with such lovely decor touches around the place. Hearing birds chirping above the burbling close-by brook when leaving the front door open was so restful, and two hearing species to owl after sunset added to the restful, special experience.

    thumb Jane
    Sunday October 6th 2019

      A lovely place in a great location. Grace is a very thoughtful host and we really enjoyed our brief stay.

    thumb Angharad
    Sunday September 29th 2019

      The cottage is well equipped, everything you could ask for is there!
    Both grace and Adrian were very accommodating and helpful.

    Information in the cottage is extremely detailed for days out and places to visit.

    The cottage is in a lovely setting, very clean and tidy and have the most comfiest beds!!!!

    thumb Rebecca
    Monday August 26th 2019

      Fantastic 2 night stay. Severn cottage had everything you would need- well equipped kitchen, board games, DVDs, books, hair dryer etc. We were very grateful for the small touches such as tea/coffee, makeup wipes and a cosy blanket. Grace was very warm and welcoming, and gave us lots of ideas for places to visit during our stay. I would highly recommend future visitors take a look out at the night sky as the amount of stars you can see is phenomenal.

    thumb Chloe
    Monday August 26th 2019

      Our second stay at this 2 bedroomed cottage. Nice place with some great views. Thoughtful host. Good wifi considering its rustic location. Right off the A470 but keep an eye out for he sign. Great place. Recommended.

    thumb Stephen
    Monday August 19th 2019

      Thank you Grace - what a perfect place to stay - your attention to detail left us wanting for nothing. We used this lovely cottage to explore the Elan Valley and will certainly recommend Elan Cottage at Wye View to our friends and family. The level of quality was spot on, lovely comfortable beds, nice linen, carpets and towels. Kitchen has everything needed for our 3night stay. We really enjoyed the Vale of Rheidol train to Aberystwyth - spectacular views though the stunning countryside. This was then matched by the scenery and views through the Elan Valley and the 5 reservoirs/dams - another must see for all. Ate at Triangle Inn twice for dinner and Lost Ark cafe for lunch, both recommended.

    All in all a perfect 3 days despite all the rain In mid August.

    Will be back for sure.

    thumb Keith
    Saturday August 17th 2019

      We had perfect 3 day stay in this property, views are incredible, cute cottage, would recommend a stay here !

    thumb Katie
    Monday August 12th 2019

      Excellent accommodation and lots to do in surrounding area. Friendly approachable hosts who were especially kind to our old dog who is a bit of a wimp.

    thumb Louise
    Sunday July 28th 2019

      This is a lovely, cozy and spotlessly clean cottage. Everything you could possibly need in the kitchen. The bedrooms were big, bright and very comfortable. We really appreciated the tea, coffee, sugar & milk and our son loved and ate the complimentary biscuits! The folders that Grace had created on local attractions and restaurants were very useful.

    thumb Amanda
    Wednesday May 29th 2019

      Fantastic place to stay. The cleanliness is exceptional and the whole feel of the cottage is welcoming and warm. I would recommend this to anyone. Loads to do locally and Grace is happy to offer recommendations to suit any visit.

    thumb Daniel
    Monday May 27th 2019

      What a little gem! I came here for a few nights for my birthday and it was fantastic. Grace greeted us when we arrived and gave us local advice based on what we might want to do and had even put together a little book of local sites and maps.

    The location is perfect for trips to the Elan Valley. Even if you didn’t want to go anywhere you could sit in the small courtyard admiring the view and watching the birds.

    I couldn’t recommend this property enough and definitely plan to return.

    thumb Owen
    Sunday May 19th 2019

      A great space with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Lots of lovely thoughtful touches like a doggy welcome pack and bird feeders outside the windows. Highly recommend

    thumb Clare
    Thursday May 2nd 2019

      Very well maintained, tidy cottage in a great location for walking the Wye Valley walk. The beds were really comfortable too. It was lovely to see chickens, birds and lambs right from the window. Grace was very welcoming and helpful on arrival too and throughout our stay. Could not recommend this place highly enough.

    thumb Eleanor
    Monday April 22nd 2019

      A neat, spotless, stylish cottage , so near to the stunning Elan Valley. Even has its own stream!

    thumb David
    Friday April 12th 2019

      A lovely cottage, sparkling clean with very comfortable beds and ideally situated for us between north and south Wales. Grace made us feel very welcome and I would highly recommend this place.

    thumb Bethan
    Sunday January 20th 2019

      Beautiful cosy cottage in a breath taking part of Wales. Loved it. Thank you Grace

    thumb Rhiannon
    Tuesday January 1st 2019

      My boyfriend and I visited Wye View as a relaxing break away to see in the New Year. We stayed for two nights and were not disappointed after a 5 hour drive to our destination. Adrian and Grace were the perfect hosts, they provided detailed information about the area and things to do and were really helpful when we needed something printed last minute!
    The cottage itself is gorgeous, a really cute little home from home with everything you could need and finished off with a beautiful four poster bed and lots of helpful finishing touches (including a fully equipped kitchen)
    The Elan Valley reservoir was a perfect day out to see the views of mid- Wales in all their winter glory, and returning to the cottage after a very cold walk to celebrate the New Year in Wales was the perfect start to 2019.

    thumb Emily
    Tuesday January 1st 2019

      Great stay.

    thumb Jael
    Sunday December 2nd 2018

      Lovely stay in the cottage which was very clean, well equipped, cosy and in very nice countryside surroundings. A very welcoming host.

    thumb Tristan
    Sunday October 21st 2018

      wonderful property with great amenities. kitchen is very well stocked. property is great for getting-away-from-it-all. supplied items were all obviously very good quality. would definitely stay again.

    thumb Ben
    Monday August 27th 2018

      Really great little cottage with wonderful views and everything you need for a base to explore that beautiful part of Wales

    thumb Carrie
    Monday June 11th 2018

      Very comfortable and convenient for the Royal Welsh Showground. Brilliant host. Thank you

    thumb Lowri
    Wednesday May 30th 2018

      Lovely place, with a nice outdoor space to enjoy the sun and the view! Grace was a great host with a very easy check-in. The house is a good size, and the bedrooms linking together wasn't as bad as I thought it might be. All round lovely stay.

    thumb Jessica
    Monday May 7th 2018

      Lovely cottages with helpful and friendly hosts. Really peaceful stay in a beautiful area, the Elan Valley. Particular highlights were the mountain road drive and kite feeding at Bwlch Nant yr Arian. In summer months would be nice to stay out late and star gaze as it's a dark sky area! We enjoyed star spotting through the velux windows of the converted barn cottage.

    thumb Emelyne
    Monday February 26th 2018

      Amazing barn conversion in a beautiful setting. Close to lots of lovely rural walks and beautiful night skys. Hosts left thoughtful touches on our arrival and had excellent recommendations on things to visit in the local area. Would definitely recommend and visit again!

    thumb Nat
    Sunday November 19th 2017

      Amazing accommodation with wonderful hosts and in the perfect setting. Plenty to do close by if you want or just take in the scenery and relax.

    thumb Jonathan
    Monday November 13th 2017

      This is a lovely, small cottage, perfect for a romantic weekend. It was very clean and had everything we needed including a fully equipped kitchen. The cottage is very cute and comfortable to stay in, full of character with a nice bed and lots of seating areas. It's located in a fairly secluded location, which is exactly what we wanted. It's very quiet and peaceful at night. We were very lucky with the weather and the skies were clear at night making the view of the stars incredible! It's easy to find too, with Grace's detailed instructions.
    It does back onto two other cottages so you might not be completely alone, but this isn't a problem at all, because the walls are so thick, you can't hear any noise.
    The hosts were lovely, explained everything on arrival, were always around, if anything was needed and also suggested some good places to visit in the area. The tea and biscuits on arrival were such a nice touch too. I'd definitely recommend this cottage if you're wanting to do explore the nearby areas to then come back to a warm, inviting place. It was perfect for us.

    thumb Maja
    Sunday August 13th 2017

      Ideal location, and really comfortable and nice cottage - perfect for exploring the beautiful local area

    thumb Dave
    Monday August 7th 2017

      Lovely, recommend.

    thumb Michael & Lisa
    Monday May 29th 2017